surveilance and privacy

February 24, 2009

Into days lecture we looked into surveilance and privacy. we watched a short youtube clip on a guy called steve mann who  talks aboout how everythink we do on the intenet gets recorded.

Before this lecutre i really didnt have a problem using social network sites such as face book and myspace becuase i never really thought about how it gets tracked and outsiders who anit even my friends can find things out about me. with out me even knowing. But then on the other hand i’m really not botherd because i dont put any think that i think is really private about myself on the intrent for the world to see. so im quite happy to leave a trail about my self because its nuffin personal i just post and write things that my contacts already know about me.

When people say that facebook has killed your privacy i don’t think it’s quite true. Because you don’t have to write about your interests, films quotes etc you can leave them blank. I have chosen to fill the about me sections in but like I’ve said before its stuff my friends already know about me and I can also set my page to private so no outsiders apart from my contacts can find information about me unless I add them.

However I watched this def jam poetry clip on you tube shannon. And towards the end Shannon talks about how where doing the governments work  because all they have to is log on to our facebooks and theirs personal information about us. But like I’ve said before its optional to put your info up there.So I really don’t have a problem about privacy the only problem I have is that I spend most of my time on these social networking sites I really do find them addictive and if I’m not logged on I feel like I’m missing out, which is really sad when I think about it.

 

Leave a comment